Election Day is May 2, polls open 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.


The May 2 Community Council Election is around the corner, but eager voters can submit ballots by mail now through May 1.


Council seats are open in Districts 1, 3, 4, 5, and 6. Two seats are open in Districts 4 and 5, where voters are asked to choose two representatives.

Candidate statements are in the Community Council Election Guide, which is available at all district service centers. The following candidates for the election were certified at the April 5 Council Meeting.


District 1: Joey L. Ba’ag Whitman (incumbent), Augustine Enas, and Wally Jones.

District 3: Rodney Jackson (incumbent), Darren Pedro-Martinez, and Antonelli Anton.

District 4 (two seats open): Jennifer Allison (incumbent), Christopher Mendoza (incumbent), Pamela F. Johnson, and Ramsey Moffett.

District 5 (two seats open): Marlin Dixon (incumbent), Merry Kris Kyyitan, Janice F. Stewart, Brian E. Davis, Sr. (incumbent), Ronald Lewis, Sr., James De La Rosa, and Jacob R. Antone.

District 6: Terrance B. Evans, Albert Pablo, Sandra Nasewytewa (incumbent), and Denise Allison.


Where can you vote? Thanks for asking. Polling locations are available at the District 1 Multipurpose Building 15747 N. Shegoi Road, District 3 Service Center 21 N. Church Street, District 4 Service Center 1510 W. Santan Road, District 5 Veterans’ Building 3496 W. Casa Blanca Road, and District 6 Learning Center 5230 W. St. Johns Road.


Absentee voting will close May 1. To receive an absentee ballot, contact your district judge or the Tribal Elections Program office at (520) 562-9735. District judges will be at their respective service centers from 3 p.m. – 5 p.m. on May 1 (the day before the election) to assist voters with questions. District 1 Judge Audrey Evans – (520) 215-5949, District 3 Judge Hazel Lewis – (520) 610-2222, District 4 Judge Sharon Miguel – (520) 418-2142 or (520) 610-0670, District 5 Judge Gaynell Lopez – (520) 709-9835, District 6 Judge Lorina Allison – (480) 318-1274.


May 2 is Election Day. Polls will be open from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Call the Tribal Elections Program office or your district judge for questions or more information.