Gila Crossing Community promotes eighth grade class of 2017

June 2, 2017


Roberto A. Jackson

Gila River Indian News


The eighth grade class of Gila Crossing Community School is ready to move on to high school. Fifty eighth grade students from Gila Crossing were promoted on May 19 at a ceremony held at the Boys & Girls Club – Komatke Branch in District 6. The gym was filled with family members and supporters to witness the students say goodbye to the eighth grade and prepare for high school.


Lead Principal Dr. Gregory Sackos welcomed the graduates and reminded them that their education has just started. “Tonight is not an ending, tonight is really just a beginning,” he said.


Principal Jeremy Copenhaver thanked the parents and repeated what Dr. Sackos imparted. “Don’t let this night be the last night of your education,” Copenhaver said.


Lt. Gov. Monica Antone’s address followed student body president Damian Martinez, and she acknowledged all the teachers. “There’s always a teacher…that says, ‘yes you can,’” she said.


Valedictorian Kayla Thompson closed the evening of speakers. She followed Tribal Education Department Director Isaac Salcido and Salutatorian Antonio Hernandez. Thompson expressed her love for her classmates and implored them to focus on their education. “I encourage you to stay away from the wrong crowd,” she said.


The ceremony concluded with a roll call of all the students and the presentation of all the graduates. Refreshments and cake were served in an adjacent auditorium at the club.


Gila Crossing Community School Eighth Grade Class


Andrea Acunia-Narcia

Gabrielle Acunia

Lucio Acunia

Ryanna Acunia

Angelica Antone

Hunter Antone

Isabelle Antone

Jacob Barehand

Vanesa Barehand

Brandon Breckenridge

Damien Cawker

Neveah Donahue

Lethyette Espuma

Kayla Gage

Damien Garnica

Jayden Goseyun

Armando Gutierrez

Antonio Hernandez

Brittney Hutchinson

Cassandra Johnico

Jamie Laws

Arriyanna Lewis

Deana Lewis

Devin Lewis

Erin Ludlow

Gabyrilla Madrid

Sandra Madrid

Damian Martinez

Robert Mendoza

Emily Miles

Simeon Nahee

Monica Ortega

Joann Pablo

Augustine Percy

Mariah Percy-Osife

Darren Peters

Tiara Peters

Mariah Rios

Ramon Silvas

Marisol Soke

Raymond Soke

Ariana Sordia

Nikki Soriano

Jadrian Stevens

Anhileena Sundust

Jahirie Thomas

Amelia Thompson

Kayla Thompson

Scott Walker

Carlos Whittier