Community Council Election, Special Chief Judge Election, May 5

Roberto A. Jackson
Gila River Indian News


The Gila River Indian Community Council certified 23 candidates for the 2020 Community Council Election during the First Regular Monthly Meeting of the Community Council on April 1. The candidates are running for Districts 1, 3, 4, 5 and 6. The election will be held May 5 with polling sites open from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.


In District 1, current Community Council Representative Joey Whitman is running as is Lorenzo Manuel. Community Council Representative Rodney Jackson, Kenyen Thompson, Darren Pedro-Martinez, Joseph Manuel Jr., and Carolyn Williams are running in District 3.


Eight candidates will be on the ballot for two seats in District 4, which includes current representatives Pamela F. Johnson and Jennifer Allison along with Ramsey Moffett, Regina Antone-Smith, Nada Celaya, John Antone, Merold Porter and Norman Wellington.


Five candidates are running for two seats in District 5 including Community Council Representative Marlin Dixon is running as well as Laurie A. Thomas, Merry Kris Kyyitan, James De La Rosa and Brian E. Davis Sr.


Community Council Representative Terrance B. Evans, Jason Jones and Albert Pablo are running in District 6. 

The May 5 election will also have a ballot for the Special Chief Judge Election. Anthony Hill and Joseph Manuel Sr. are running for chief judge.


Tribal Elections Program will be upholding safety precautions for social distancing and limiting interaction between voters and those assisting at the polling sites. If you are sick, have a fever cough and not feeling well, stay home and consult your provider.


Tribal Elections says to not bring children to the polling sites. Once an individual has voted, an election official will sanitize the voting booth for the next voter.


Absentee voting opened April 14 and will close at 5 p.m. on May 4. Polling site locations:

• District 1 Multipurpose Building

• District 2 Event Center

• District 3 Service Center

• District 4 Main Hall (Former Service Center)

• District 5 Veteran’s Building

• District 6 Learning Center

• District 7 Multipurpose Facility